English | Español

How to Participate

Your health information. Your choice.

Your participation in SHARE is voluntary. You can decide if you want your health information to be available in SHARE.

When your health care providers participate with SHARE and disclose your health records, they are required to let you know. When you visit a participating provider you should receive information about SHARE and your participation choices. This is often included with your provider’s HIPAA Notice of Privacy Practices.

SHARE offers a number of benefits for patients, including better coordination between providers, fewer repeat tests and medical errors, better patient safety and more. We encourage you to talk to your health care provider before you make a decision about sharing your information. It may also help you to review the Frequently Asked Questions.

How can I participate?

If you would like to make your health information available in SHARE, you don’t need to do anything—there are no boxes to check and no forms to sign. When your doctor gives you the opportunity to opt-out, just don’t opt out.

How can I opt-out of SHARE?

If you decide not to share your health information in SHARE, you can opt-out any time. If you would like to opt-out, ask one of your participating health care providers for an Opt-Out form. You must complete the form and return it to your health care provider. You can also opt-out for your minor child (under the age of 18) using the same process.

Your choice not to participate will not affect your access to or coverage of medical care. Participating providers are required to treat you even if you have opted-out of SHARE.

You should understand that when you opt-out, the various providers involved in your care will not have access to your medical records in SHARE, but they may continue to exchange your medical information through other means such as mail, fax or phone.

If I request to opt-out, can I change my mind later?

Yes. If you opt-out, you can change your mind and revoke the request at any time by completing the Opt-Out Form and checking a box to terminate your previous decision. When you revoke a request to opt-out, all the information participating providers have gathered since you made your request will be available in SHARE.